not beige

Kelp Constructs by Julia Lohmann

Posted on: April 27, 2009

These breathtaking lightshades were made by artist Julia Lohmann on site at Galleria Nilufar –

“For the Saloni di Mobile in Milano we built a workshop in Galleria Nilufar.
Instead of finished products we brought 8 kg of kelp from Japan and Ireland and our tools with us and produced the finished pieces in the gallery. There was a real buzz about the new material and our visitors were very excited to be able to see the whole working process and touch the material in its different stages of production: dried, re-hydrated, stretched, varnished, unvarnished.”

kelp-constructs-julia-lohmann2

kelp-constructs-julia-lohman

kelp-constructs-julia-lohmann

2 Responses to "Kelp Constructs by Julia Lohmann"

I am hoping this goes directly to Julia Lohmann. I am very interested in what you are doing and am myself interested in working with kelp as an art material. I would like to know if you’re following up on what you did in Italy and if you are planning classes or anything else like that where someone might learn. I am also writing about artists who work with natural materials like this and find inspiration in the environment, so I have several purposes in these questions.

I hope to hear from you and I could tell you more about my interests.
Thanks.
Beverly Gordon
Design Studies Dept.
University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Hi Beverly – I have forwarded your message to Julia Lohmann via the contact page on her site: http://www.julialohmann.co.uk/pages/contact

I don’t know her personally, I just found her work fascinating and posted about her on my blog!

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

April 2009
M T W T F S S
    May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
